We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.


by Natdyr

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €7 EUR  or more


  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    Pressed on black vinyl with album design by Kim de la Roi Orneborg and vinyl mastering by Antony Ryan.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Tundra via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 4 days

      €17 EUR or more 


Noise 06:55
Nattens Dug 04:05
The First 07:51


Tundra is the debut album from Natdyr, the duo of saxophone player Martin Taanum Starup and guitar player Mads Joen Taanum. Joined by drummer Allan Lauridsen, the group have recorded a collection of immersive instrumentals which draw inspiration from a diverse pallette of sonic textures.

Natdyr (the Danish word for nocturnal animal) captures the sound of city nightlife, rainy urban alleyways, strange midnight encounters and nordic noir, but the group also lives up to the album title Tundra, when they move away from their classic urban jazz roots and go off into experimental passages in fields of desolate noise.

Recorded over the course of just a few days in a 14th century church southwest of Copenhagen during the winter of 2017/2018, the musicians set out to capture the raw sound of playing together with the band feeding off each other’s energy and the old church walls. From the acoustic subtlety of the quieter moments, to the more blown-out experimental sounds, the reverberation of the room played a big part in shaping the performances and recordings.

Natdyr makes music that is not easily defined by one genre, but the songs on the album incorporate elements from jazz, post-rock, electronica and experimental music and take inspiration from artists such as Sonic Youth, Daniel Lanois and Talk Talk among many others.


released February 22, 2019

Martin Taanum Starup
Saxophones, vocals, EWI, keyboards, programming

Mads Joen Taanum
Guitars, vocals, bass, keyboards, programming, drums

Drums on Stabbed in the Front, Nattens Dug and The First by Allan Lauridsen. Noise and Nattens Dug were recorded live.

Recorded at Sct. Nicolai Church in Køge during 2017/2018
Recorded, mixed and produced by Søren Lemmike
Mastered by Antony Ryan at RedRedPaw Mastering
Cover art by Kim de la Roi Orneborg

Produced with support from Koda


all rights reserved



Unit Shifter Copenhagen, Denmark

Unit Shifter Records

all proceeds from digital/vinyl sales are currently donated to ICRC who are on the ground providing humanitarian aid to people in Ukraine

contact / help

Contact Unit Shifter

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Tundra, you may also like: